Who the entity is, who controls it, who holds security over it, and what the public record says about its conduct.
Purpose. Establish the identity, ownership and control of the entity, and set out what the public record says about its conduct.
A check that did not run is named as such throughout. Nothing in this document should be read as a clean result for a check it does not say was performed.
The entity is named identically on the register and in its own reports. No holder has control: the largest, S W Bragg (Non-Executive Chair), holds 20.0%, the top five hold 39.54%, and the PSC register agrees there is no person with significant control. None of the 12 checks that ran returned an adverse finding. 3 returned findings a lender should weigh, set out below.
Identity and control are settled here. Conduct is settled only as far as the public record reaches, and this document names every point at which it stops.
| Item | On the register |
|---|---|
| Legal name | Tandem Group plc |
| Company number | 00616818 |
| Status and type | Active, public limited company |
| Incorporated | 15 December 1958 |
| Registered office | 35 Tameside Drive, Castle Bromwich, Birmingham, B35 7AG |
| Nature of business (SIC) | 70100 - Activities of head offices |
| Previous names | EFG PLC (26 Feb 1990 - 01 Jan 1996); ECONOMIC FORESTRY GROUP P.L.C. (05 Jul 1982 - 26 Feb 1990); ECONOMIC FORESTRY (HOLDINGS) LIMITED (15 Dec 1958 - 05 Jul 1982) |
| Listing | AIM, London Stock Exchange, ticker TND, ISIN GB00B460T373 |
| Accounts | made up to 31 December 2025; next due 30 June 2027 |
Companies House register for the parent and its trading subsidiary, read against the annual report and the company's own announcements. ↗ Companies House
Name agreement. Companies House and the annual report name the entity identically once letter case is normalised.
Trading subsidiary. TANDEM GROUP TRADING LIMITED (01700202), incorporated 17 February 1983, SIC 46900 - Non-specialised wholesale trade, same registered office. Formerly MV SPORTS & LEISURE LIMITED (1990 - 2022); MV SPORT AND LEISURE LIMITED (1990); M.V. IMPORTS & EXPORTS LIMITED (1985 - 1990); T.G.M. MOTORS LIMITED (1983 - 1985); GALLEYSTAG LIMITED (1983). Its own accounts to 31 December 2025 were filed on 16 September 2026. ↗ Companies House
| Other subsidiary | Where | Activity |
|---|---|---|
| M.V. Sports (Hong Kong) Limited | Hong Kong | Sports, leisure and toy products (sourcing office) |
| Expressco Direct Limited | England | Dormant |
| Tandem Group Cycles Limited | England | Dormant |
Annual report, parent company note 5.
Tandem designs and imports bicycles and e-bikes, licensed wheeled toys, golf trolleys and home and garden products, and sells them to UK national retailers, independent dealers and online marketplaces, plus a small direct-to-consumer e-bike business (Electric Life). Production is outsourced, mainly to Asia; the group owns its Birmingham head office and an 85,000 sq ft freehold warehouse.
The top five notified holders hold 39.54%. The largest, S W Bragg (Non-Executive Chair), holds 20.0%. Directors currently on the board hold 20.0% between them among the notified holders.
| Holder | Holding | As of | Source | Note |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| S W Bragg (Non-Executive Chair) | 20.0% | 22 June 2026 | PDMR announcement | |
| Individual shareholder | 6.4% | 20 March 2026 | AR2025 | |
| Individual shareholder | 5.1% | 20 March 2026 | AR2025 | |
| Individual shareholder | 4.14% | 8 September 2026 | TR-1 | |
| Individual shareholder | 3.9% | 20 March 2026 | AR2025 | |
| S J Grant (former Chair) | 3.8% | 22 June 2026 | TR-1 |
Significant holders of 3% or more from the annual report (at 20 March 2026), brought forward by TR-1 and PDMR announcements to 10 September 2026; checked against the Companies House PSC register.
Notifications since the annual reportPersons with significant control. The PSC register records no person with significant control, and no notified holder is above 25%: the largest, S W Bragg (Non-Executive Chair), holds 20.0%. The two disclosures agree. The register records: “The company knows or has reasonable cause to believe that there is no registrable person or registrable relevant legal entity in relation to the company” ↗ PSC register
Holdings under 3% are not notifiable, so the list is complete only above that threshold. A holder shown with an earlier date may have changed since without crossing a whole-percentage threshold.
EncumbranceUK disclosures do not report share pledges by holders below the PSC threshold, and the PSC register does not record pledges. None is disclosed; that is not the same as none existing.
11 charges outstanding. The parent has 18 charges registered, 5 outstanding; the trading subsidiary 13, 6 outstanding. ↗ Parent charges ↗ Subsidiary charges
| Created | Holder | Type | Particulars | Company |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 6 November 2000 | HSBC Invoice Finance (UK) Ltd | Fixed charge on receivables and related rights | Fixed equitable charge over all factored receivables which fail to vest in the security holder. | Parent |
| 12 September 2002 | HSBC Invoice Finance (UK) Ltd | Fixed charge on purchased debts which fail to vest | Fixed equitable charge over all debts purchased under the debt purchase agreement. | Parent |
| 29 May 2003 | HSBC Bank plc | Debenture | Fixed and floating charges over the undertaking and all property and assets present and future. | Parent |
| 1 February 2013 | HSBC Bank plc | Legal mortgage | Freehold property, 35 Tameside Drive, Castle Vale, Birmingham (title WM705755). | Parent |
| 9 April 2021 | HSBC UK Bank plc | Legal charge | Land on the south side of Orton Way, Orton, Birmingham (title WM325899). | Parent |
| 9 May 2002 | Private individual | Debenture | Fixed and floating charges over the undertaking and all property and assets. Part released. | Trading subsidiary |
| 9 May 2002 | Private individual | Debenture | Fixed and floating charges over the undertaking and all property and assets. Part released. | Trading subsidiary |
| 29 May 2003 | HSBC Bank plc | Debenture | Fixed and floating charges over the undertaking and all property and assets present and future. | Trading subsidiary |
| 4 June 2003 | HSBC Invoice Finance (UK) Limited | Fixed charge on purchased debts which fail to vest | Fixed equitable charge over all debts purchased under the debt purchase agreement. | Trading subsidiary |
| 17 May 2013 | HSBC Bank plc | Charge | Notification of addition to or amendment of charge. | Trading subsidiary |
| 5 February 2016 | HSBC Bank plc | General pledge | A general pledge. | Trading subsidiary |
2 of these name private individuals as chargees (created 2002; named on the register) and remain outstanding on the register with part of the property released. The credit report raises their satisfaction as a condition; here they are recorded as a register finding, not as evidence of a live debt.
Every address and contact point the public sources publish, set side by side. A difference between sources is a question to put, not a finding of wrongdoing.
| Identifier | As published |
|---|---|
| Companies House number | 00616818 (Tandem Group plc); 01700202 (Tandem Group Trading Limited) |
| ISIN | GB00B460T373 |
| Ticker | TND (AIM) |
Companies House numbers from the register; ISIN from the TR-1 filings and the company's share-price page.
Addresses on record| Role | Address | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Registered office and head office | 35 Tameside Drive, Castle Bromwich, Birmingham, B35 7AG | Companies House; annual report ↗ View |
| Warehouse (freehold, charged to HSBC) | Land on the south side of Orton Way, Birmingham (title WM325899) | Companies House charge particulars ↗ View |
| Hong Kong subsidiary, registered office | Room 1910, 19/F, Lee Garden One, 33 Hysan Avenue, Causeway Bay, Hong Kong | AR2025, parent company note 5 |
| Hong Kong sourcing office | Kowloon East (moved there in late 2024; no street address published) | AR2025, strategic report |
| Type | As published | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Telephone | 0121 748 8000 | Regulatory announcements, 2026 |
| Investor email | investorrelations@tandemgroup.co.uk | H1 2026 interim report |
| Nominated adviser and broker | Cavendish Capital Markets Limited, 020 7220 0500 | Regulatory announcements, 2026 |
| Auditor | Cooper Parry Group Limited, East Midlands Airport | AR2025 |
| Item | As described |
|---|---|
| Geographic concentration | Sales are overwhelmingly UK; expansion into Western Europe began in 2026 with a new Head of International Sales. Sourcing is concentrated in Asia, run from a Hong Kong subsidiary. |
| Customer concentration | Not disclosed. Note 11 states the group 'does not identify specific concentrations of credit risk' because receivables 'resemble a large number of receivables from various customers'. |
| Seasonality | Stock and borrowing move through the year. At 30 June 2026 inventory was £6.5M against £4.4M at 31 December 2025, and net debt £2.8M against £1.9M. The pattern is not fixed: over the first half of 2025 net debt fell, from £4.3M to £3.2M, and operating cash was positive. |
| Customer types | UK national retailers; independent bicycle dealers; online marketplaces (Amazon, eBay) and retailers' online channels; direct-to-consumer (Electric Life showroom and website); Free On Board container orders shipped direct to retailers |
| Named sales channels | B&Q; Tesco; The Range; Wayfair; Amazon; eBay |
| Primary inputs | finished goods sourced from Asian contract manufacturers, purchased largely in US dollars; brand licences from global licensors (Disney, Mattel, Hasbro, Netflix, BBC and others), typically two to three years |
| Primary outputs | bicycles and electric bikes (own brands: Dawes, Claud Butler, Falcon, Elswick, Squish, Boss); licensed and own-brand wheeled toys and outdoor play; golf trolleys and bags (Ben Sayers, Pro Rider); home and garden heating, cooling and outdoor products (Jack Stonehouse, Airwave) |
The annual report's strategic report and notes. Narrative, not a register.
Named in AR2025 as platforms and retail partners' online channels through which third-party marketplace sales were made. Not disclosed as a customer list, and no customer share of revenue is given.
Screening surface. The annual report names retail channels and marketplaces, not a customer or supplier list, and no supplier at all. Sanctions and adverse-media screening here therefore covers the group and its directors only; a clean screen against that is not a clean screen of the counterparties.
12 of 12 checks were run. 0 returned an adverse finding and 3 a finding to weigh. A finding is a fact a lender should take into account that is not misconduct; a check that could not run is named, because a dossier listing only adverse results cannot be told apart from one where nothing was checked.
| Check | Result | Detail |
|---|---|---|
| Insolvency history on the Companies House register | Clean | Neither company shows an insolvency tab on the register, which Companies House presents only where insolvency proceedings have been recorded. |
| Insolvency or winding-up notice in The Gazette | Clean | No Gazette notice for Tandem Group plc or Tandem Group Trading Limited. The Gazette's 'Tandem' results (Tandem Consulting, Tandem Systems, In Tandem Resources, Tandem Leisure) are unrelated companies. Companies House shows no insolvency history for either company. ↗ Source |
| Directors on the disqualified-officers register | Clean | No current director appears on the disqualified-officers register. Searched by full name for all five; the surname matches returned (for example 16 disqualified Taylors and 4 Kaurs) all carry different dates of birth from the directors' dates on the Companies House officer list. ↗ Source |
| UK Sanctions List (FCDO) | Clean | No match on the UK Sanctions List (FCDO, list dated 21 September 2026, 58,449 name rows) for any group company or current director. Name-based screen against the published file, not a paid screening product. ↗ Source |
| OFAC sanctions lists | Clean | No match on the OFAC SDN list, its alias file or the consolidated non-SDN list (downloaded 29 September 2026) for Tandem Group, Tandem Group Trading, M.V. Sports (Hong Kong), Expressco Direct, Tandem Group Cycles or any current director. Name-based screen against the list files, not a paid screening product. The UN and EU lists were not screened separately; UN designations are largely carried into the UK list, EU designations are not. ↗ Source |
| Product safety recalls and reports (OPSS) | Clean | No OPSS recall or safety report names Tandem, MV Sports or the group's bicycle, toy, golf or home-and-garden brands. The only near match, 'Squish! Gummy Bear Toy' (15 September 2026), is a counterfeit squeeze toy rejected at the border; the report names no brand owner and nothing in it links it to the group's Squish bike brand. ↗ Source |
| Auditor's opinion and going concern | Clean | Cooper Parry Group Limited: unqualified opinion on the FY2025 accounts. No material uncertainty identified. Key audit matters: Carrying value and impairment of goodwill; Valuation of defined benefit pension obligations. |
| Related-party transactions disclosed | Clean | There were no related party transactions during the current or prior year. (AR2025 note 19) |
| Material pending litigation | Clean | No litigation provision or contingent liability for litigation in the FY2025 notes, and none found in the news search. A court-record search (the civil courts' online case lists) has not been run. |
| Bank covenant compliance, last three years | Finding | Financial covenants on the HSBC loans were breached at 31 December 2023 with no waiver received; the loans were refinanced on 31 January 2024 by a covenant-free HSBC loan (AR2023 note 14). |
| At least 2 independent non-executive directors (QCA Code expectation) | Finding | 1 of 5 directors is independent (Mark Adrian TAYLOR). The chair holds 20.0% of the shares and is not counted as independent. A search for an additional director was announced on 10 August 2026. |
| Chair or board changes in the last 12 months | Finding | 17 June 2026: Stephen James Grant stepped down as Chair and director at the AGM, after 21 years on the board (the Companies House register records his resignation on 16 June 2026). 17 June 2026: Jonathan Crookall became Chair. 17 July 2026: Jonathan Crookall stepped down as Chair, reverting to non-executive director; Mark Taylor appointed Interim Non-Executive Chair and a search for a permanent independent chair begun. 10 August 2026: Simon Bragg, a non-executive director holding about 20% of the shares, appointed Non-Executive Chair; Jonathan Crookall left the board; a search begun for an additional independent non-executive director. |
Companies House registers, the annual reports and the company's announcements, and the executed source register below. Every check names whether it ran.
Management tone. Measured optimism: 'trading in line with market expectations', with the new chair stating the group must deliver 'scale beyond the historical levels of sales and profitability'. Guidance. FY2026 market forecasts, as the company understands them: revenue £27.7M and profit before tax £0.8M. Revenue to 30 August 2026 +9.1% year on year. A full-year dividend is intended if the forecast is met.
Regulatory exposure. UK consumer product safety (toys, e-bikes, e-scooters and batteries) enforced by the Office for Product Safety and Standards; AIM Rules and the UK Market Abuse Regulation as a listed issuer.
Sanctions. Every group company and every current director was screened by name against the UK Sanctions List file (dated 21 September 2026) and the OFAC SDN and consolidated list files (downloaded 29 September 2026). No match. This is a name screen against the published lists, not a paid screening product with fuzzy matching and ownership links.
Adverse media. No fraud, penalty, lawsuit or recall coverage of Tandem Group plc found. Results for 'Tandem' fraud and litigation terms return unrelated companies (Tandem Diabetes Care in the US; Tandem Money, a UK bank). Coverage of this issuer in 2026 is trading and board news: the AGM trading statement, the chair changes of July and August, and the H1 2026 return to profit.
15 sources make up a complete KYC check on an entity in the United Kingdom, 12 of them mandatory. The register below is resolved for this company, with every query built and ready to run. 15 have been executed for this document, and their results are recorded in the table below.
Searches were run on 29 September 2026 and recorded, so this document reproduces from them rather than re-running a live search each time it is built. Method: each register row run against its primary source where one is publicly downloadable (the Companies House register pages, the FCDO UK Sanctions List file, the OFAC SDN and consolidated list files, the Insolvency Service disqualified-officer search, the GOV.UK product-safety search), and by web search otherwise; results read and recorded by hand.
| Source | Weight | Status | What it would establish |
|---|---|---|---|
| ↗ Company website ↗ re-run search | Mandatory | Nothing adverse | Investor site tandemgroupplc.co.uk confirmed, carrying the annual reports, interim reports and every regulatory announcement since 2013. The address printed in the annual report, www.tandemgroup.co.uk, redirects there. Trading brands run their own sites (mvsports.com, squish.bike, bensayers.co.uk, electriclife.co.uk). |
| ↗ Companies House ↗ re-run search | Mandatory | Finding | Company 00616818, active public limited company, incorporated 15 December 1958 as Economic Forestry (Holdings) Limited; renamed EFG PLC in 1990 and Tandem Group plc in 1996. Registered office 35 Tameside Drive, Castle Bromwich, B35 7AG. Accounts to 31 December 2025 filed 23 July 2026, next due 30 June 2027; confirmation statement current. Trading subsidiary Tandem Group Trading Limited (01700202, formerly MV Sports & Leisure Limited) filed its own accounts to 31 December 2025 on 16 September 2026. The FY2025 group accounts image on the register runs to 35 pages and stops at page 33 of the 72-page annual report. |
| ↗ Companies House, persons with significant control ↗ re-run search | Mandatory | Nothing adverse | No registrable person with significant control. The company has filed a statement that it has no registrable person, which is consistent with its largest holder being at about 20% of the votes, below the 25% threshold. |
| Source | Weight | Status | What it would establish |
|---|---|---|---|
| ↗ LinkedIn company page ↗ re-run search | Optional | Nothing adverse | LinkedIn company page 'TANDEM GROUP PLC' confirmed, Castle Bromwich, 51-200 employees band, founded 1958. The annual report gives an average of 73 employees in 2025, consistent with that band. |
| ↗ Disqualified directors register (Insolvency Service) ↗ re-run search | Mandatory | Nothing adverse | No current director appears on the disqualified-officers register. Searched by full name for all five; the surname matches returned (for example 16 disqualified Taylors and 4 Kaurs) all carry different dates of birth from the directors' dates on the Companies House officer list. |
| Source | Weight | Status | What it would establish |
|---|---|---|---|
| ↗ Companies House, register of charges ↗ re-run search | Mandatory | Finding | Eleven charges outstanding across the parent and the trading subsidiary. Nine are HSBC: all-assets debentures over both companies, legal charges over both freehold titles (35 Tameside Drive, and the Orton Way warehouse land), fixed charges over receivables in favour of HSBC Invoice Finance, and a general pledge. The other two are 2002 debentures over the trading subsidiary in favour of two private individuals, recorded as outstanding with part of the property released and no satisfaction filed. |
| ↗ UK credit rating, current and prior for trend ↗ re-run search | Mandatory | Not rated | No public credit rating from S&P, Moody's or Fitch. Consistent with a group whose debt is bilateral bank lending from HSBC rather than rated bonds. |
| Source | Weight | Status | What it would establish |
|---|---|---|---|
| ↗ Cross-border trade data, Trademo / Volza / Panjiva ↗ re-run search | Optional | Not found | No public shipment record for Tandem Group Trading or MV Sports & Leisure surfaced in the free trade-data indexes. A Panjiva page for 'MV Sport' is a New York apparel business, unrelated. UK import records are not published at company level free of charge. |
| ↗ UK trade data, Trademo / Volza / HMRC ↗ re-run search | Mandatory | Not found | No company-level import record found in the free indexes (Trademo, Volza). The annual report states purchases are largely in US dollars from Asian contract manufacturers, sourced through the Hong Kong subsidiary. |
| Source | Weight | Status | What it would establish |
|---|---|---|---|
| ↗ The Gazette, insolvency and winding-up notices ↗ re-run search | Mandatory | Nothing adverse | No Gazette notice for Tandem Group plc or Tandem Group Trading Limited. The Gazette's 'Tandem' results (Tandem Consulting, Tandem Systems, In Tandem Resources, Tandem Leisure) are unrelated companies. Companies House shows no insolvency history for either company. |
| ↗ Product safety recalls and reports (OPSS) ↗ re-run search | Optional | Nothing adverse | No OPSS recall or safety report names Tandem, MV Sports or the group's bicycle, toy, golf or home-and-garden brands. The only near match, 'Squish! Gummy Bear Toy' (15 September 2026), is a counterfeit squeeze toy rejected at the border; the report names no brand owner and nothing in it links it to the group's Squish bike brand. |
| Source | Weight | Status | What it would establish |
|---|---|---|---|
| ↗ General news (last 24 months) ↗ re-run search | Mandatory | Nothing adverse | No fraud, penalty, lawsuit or recall coverage of Tandem Group plc found. Results for 'Tandem' fraud and litigation terms return unrelated companies (Tandem Diabetes Care in the US; Tandem Money, a UK bank). Coverage of this issuer in 2026 is trading and board news: the AGM trading statement, the chair changes of July and August, and the H1 2026 return to profit. |
| ↗ UK business news ↗ re-run search | Mandatory | Nothing adverse | No FT, Guardian or Reuters coverage of the issuer in 2024 to 2026 beyond results and board-change wires. Nothing adverse. |
| Source | Weight | Status | What it would establish |
|---|---|---|---|
| ↗ OFAC / UN / EU sanctions screen ↗ re-run search | Mandatory | Nothing adverse | No match on the OFAC SDN list, its alias file or the consolidated non-SDN list (downloaded 29 September 2026) for Tandem Group, Tandem Group Trading, M.V. Sports (Hong Kong), Expressco Direct, Tandem Group Cycles or any current director. Name-based screen against the list files, not a paid screening product. The UN and EU lists were not screened separately; UN designations are largely carried into the UK list, EU designations are not. |
| ↗ UK Sanctions List (FCDO / OFSI) ↗ re-run search | Mandatory | Nothing adverse | No match on the UK Sanctions List (FCDO, list dated 21 September 2026, 58,449 name rows) for any group company or current director. Name-based screen against the published file, not a paid screening product. |
Official registry. https://find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/, primary identifier is Companies House number (CRN).